Independence and the Terrible 2′s

DSC_2133

While life has certainly been more frustrating around here lately with a finicky two year old, I’m realizing little by little (although not necessarily learning from) that the terrible 2′s really have very little to do with your 2 year old being terrible, and much more to do with the fact that your 2 year old wants so badly to be independent and has so few outlets to do so. It’s like they are fully aware of all there is to do, and so unequipped to do actually do it. Like taking a bath, eating, getting dressed, making something fit just the right way, etc.

I can easily relate to her frustration in many ways. One such way is my camera. Last year for Christmas my family bought me a gorgeous, wonderful, fancy DSLR camera which, a year later, I am still in love with.

However, I know that with the right skill, that camera can do so very much more than my skill level is capable of making it do. I am aware of all it’s settings and fancy do-dads, but not knowledgeable enough on it all to operate it the way it’s intended to be operated. It’s frustrating knowing that with the right abilities, my pictures could be so much better than they are.

DSC_2086

I’m trying to remember daily that she just wants to be able to do things that she sees us doing every day. And I also try to remember that while it often seems she is fully aware of what’s going on, she’s still just 2 and I can’t possibly expect her to understand and properly respond to every little thing. Because I’m almost 25 and I fail at that regularly.

 

About becauseyouaskedmeto

Learning to be a momma. Longing to be obsessed with my Savior. Loving my husband.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Independence and the Terrible 2′s

  1. Marci says:

    I wish we lived closer to each other so we could take a photography class together!

  2. Sandra Barnett ( Grandmother) says:

    Love that sweet little girl!!

  3. Papa once said about Adelyn that she is more intelligently advanced than her emotions know what to do with. Hence her often meltdowns because she knows and understands what’s going on around her, she just doesn’t know how to deal with it. I’m sure this is true for Ace too. She’s too smart for her own little body to keep up with. She’ll catch up and in the meantime I am thankful she has a great mom and dad to guide her through the complicated years of growing up.

Leave a Reply

